The Carmo Convent was founded by D. Nuno Álvares Pereira, the Constable of Portugal, in 1389. It is an old convent located in Largo do Carmo and built in a Gothic style on the hill opposite the one of Castelo de São Jorge, in Lisbon.
D. Nuno Álvares Pereira was one of the most famous Portuguese heroes of the Middle Ages and the fact that he founded and chose Convento do Carmo as his grave, decisively marked the history of this monument.
Today the ruins also house the Carmo Archaeological Museum, founded in 1863.
WHY THIS PLACE
The reconstruction works of the Convent began in 1756, already in neo-Gothic style, with the restoration of the pillars and arches of the naves, but were suspended in 1834 due to the extinction of Religious Orders in Portugal. In the middle of the 19th century, it was decided not to continue the reconstruction of the convent, leaving the place in the open.
The absence of the roof gives these spaces a unique beauty, thanks to the incredible contrast between the gray tones of the buildings, the blue of the Lisbon sky and the green of the small lawns that intersect the columns of the arches. Ideal for large weddings or smaller editorials.
• Over the years, the church and convent underwent several reforms, according to the new tastes and architectural styles that emerged, until they were almost completely destroyed by the great earthquake that struck Lisbon in 1775.
• Due to the numerous landslides, people sought refuge in the port area of Lisbon, but a few minutes later it formed a tsunami that invaded both the port and the city center. The areas that were not submerged, were destroyed by the fires that spread and lasted at least 5 days.
• The Carmo Convent, as it was built in an elevated position, was not affected by the tsunami, but it did not escape the fury of the earthquake and the consequent fires.