It was a Cistercian monastery located in the Île-de-France region, in northern France. The abbey was founded in 1118, with the construction of a monastery in honor of the Mother of God and Saint John the Baptist. From 1148, the monastery began to prosper and a Cistercian style church was built. Over time, other buildings were added, as well as a mill and a fish farm.
At the end of the 14th century, the monastery began to lose its religious fervor, both because of its wealth and because of the involvement of the Île-de-France region in the Hundred Years War. In the 17th century, the community was spiritually restored by embracing the Strict Observance Reform.
The monastery was suppressed in 1791 during the French Revolution and its members were dispersed. The buildings, after passing through several hands, were partially restored in the 1880s, saving the ruins of the church and part of the buildings.
WHY THIS PLACE
A place of great beauty and historical content, combined with the comfort of a fantastic hotel structure, with childcare / babysitting service for children and a swimming pool and tennis court discovered during the summer season.
A real gem hidden in the beautiful countryside. The former Cistercian abbey, whose buildings now house a hotel with a capacity for 1,200 people, complete with restaurant and helipad, combines charm and elegance.
It is in a romantic park, embellished with a tranquil lake, that the vestiges of the 12th century abbey church, the monks' room and its vault of warheads and the St. Thibaul fountain are discovered. Magnificent scenery, relaxing green environment, incredible stay and perfect location for any event. Each detail together gives the place an almost magical vibe.
• The buildings have now been transformed into a hotel capable of accommodating 1,200 guests, complete with a restaurant and helipad.
• The natural source of water used by the monks, located near the Abbey, continues to supply the hotel today.